Biosimilar
What are biosimilars?
Biosimilars are laboratory-generated clones of high-priced Biologics. Having the same structure as their parent biologics,
biosimilars provide the same pharmaceutical effects at affordable prices, improving access to medical treatments patients need.
Biosimilars are a new paradigm of therapeutic agents that have revolutionized the social economy.
Difficulties in the Development of Biologics
Compared to chemically synthesized pharmaceuticals, biologics display complex crystal structures resulting in a more challenging process for development and production.

Differences in the level of technology required for the development of biologics compared to generic pharmaceuticals are analogous to the technological differences observed between development of a bicycle, automobile and airplane.
History of the Development and Regulation of Biosimilars
The European Medicines Agency (EMA) was the first regulatory body to issue guidelines on biosimilars. On Oct. 30, 2005, the "Guideline on similar biological medicinal products" came into effect in Europe, providing an overarching framework for obtaining approval for a biosimilar in the European Union. This paved the way for the subsequent launch biosimilars in Europe, which leads globally in the number and usage of biosimilars. The World Health Organization (WHO) and countries including Canada and Australia have followed the EMA's lead soon after and adopted similar principles in their guidelines. US FDA developed an overall framework for biosimilars between 2009 and 2012, and issued a final guideline in 2015. In China, CFDA also issued the "Technical Guidelines for Research and Development and Evaluation of Biosimilars (draft)" in 2015, which defined biosimilars as biological products with similar quality, safety and efficacy to registered reference drugs. As regulatory pathways have now developed almost across the world, and many major biological therapeutics (e.g. Humira, Herceptin, MabThera, Remicade, etc.) have started to lose exclusivity, biosimilars are becoming more widely approved and accepted globally.
Benefits of biosimilars
Benefiting from breakthroughs in genetics, molecular biology and biochemistry, biological therapeutics truly revolutionized and transformed the treatment paradigm, patient care, long-term clinical outcomes and public healthcare budget for cancer, autoimmune diseases, and chronic diseases around the world. The global market for biologic therapeutics has exceeded $200 billion in 2016. Currently, among the top ten best-selling drugs worldwide, eight are biologics.

Because of the high technical barriers to the production of biologics and the difficulty in process quality control, the prices of biological therapeutics are more expensive and patient access is lower than that of chemical drugs. Globally, the approval of biosimilar medicines has led to a significant increase in the number of patients who are able to receive biological therapy due to their lower cost. Not only are biosimilars less expensive than originator biologics, they also bring competition to the market, forcing down the cost of these expensive medicines. It is estimated that biosimilars will reduce direct spending on biologic drugs by US$54 billion from 2017 to 2026 in the US1. A published pharmacoeconomic study2 estimated that the introduction of a trastuzumab biosimilar (CT-P6) would provide substantial national budgetary savings ranged from €872 million to €2,635 million in the 28 countries of the European Union, and these savings would allow an additional 52,154 to 134,543 patients to gain access to trastuzumab over a five-year period, therefore improving the public health landscape.

The cost savings with biosimilars also have an impact on treatment regimens and our approach to biological therapy. Biosimilar medicines have potential to provide an appropriate environment in which patients can be treated when necessary without treatment delay.

In summary, biosimilars will provide
Introduction of world-class, high-quality and affordable biosimilars can benefit China and Chinese patients
In 2019, IQVIA and Vcell have jointly completed a pharmacoeconomic study3 to assess the budget impact of Herceptin (trastuzumab) biosimilar (CT-P6) in China. In the study, it was found that the increasing epidemiology of breast cancer and gastric cancer in China has caused heavy disease burden to Chinese patients, and significant economic burden to both the medical insurance fund and patient families, resulting in low patient access. The introduction of a world-class, high quality and affordable biosimilar can provide significant savings in the national medical insurance fund. Such budget savings can be used to treat additional patients and provide insurance coverage for more innovative drugs, thus optimize health care resource allocation. In addition, due to biosimilar's more affordable price, patient access will be significantly improved, and fewer families would suffer from "poverty and fall back to poverty due to illness" (shown in the following two charts).


Production technology is the main technical challenge of biologics manufacturing
The development and production challenge of biosimilars is mainly in the biosynthesis of effective ingredients. Although the structure, function and therapeutic effect of effective ingredients are public information, large scale and high purity production is the key, and the technical challenge is mainly in the production process. The biosynthesis of biological drugs can be divided into two steps: upstream and downstream. Upstream steps usually include cell culture and harvesting, while downstream steps include multi-step purification. Laboratory level small-scale production and commercial large-scale production are different in technology. Large-scale production technology is one of the important technological challenges. The difficulties of large-scale production mainly lie in improving production efficiency and stable quality control. Production of the small molecule chemical drugs is more mature. The production line construction, maintenance costs and variable costs of drug production are relatively low, and there is no major threshold in large scale production. On the contrary, production of biosimilars represents the characteristics of a "high threshold" industry, large-scale and high-purity production is the key to lower drug costs.
Celltrion's large-scale production facility is the 1st cGMP Facility approved by US FDA in Asia
With 190,000L total production capacity, the Celltrion's large-scale production facility is the first Asian cGMP Facility approved by US FDA back in 2007. Recent GMP approvals of the facility were in 2018 by US FDA, EMA and PMDA. Celltrion has successfully launched biosimilar products around the world with rapid market share growth. Available real-world evidence has demonstrated efficacy and safety of the products.
1. Mulcahy AW, Hlavka JP, Case SR. Biosimilar cost savings in the United States: initial experience and future potential. Rand Health Q. 2018;7(4):3 (eCollection 2018 Mar.)
2. D. Suh, S. Lee, and D. Suh, "PCN69 - Budget Impact of Substituting Biosimilar Trastuzumab (CT-P6) in Treating Gastric Cancer and Breast Cancer in 28 European Countries," Value Health, Vol. 21, P. S25, Oct. 2018.
3. Budget Impact Analysis of Trastuzumab Biosimilar CT-P6 on HER2+ Breast Cancer and Gastric Cancer Treatment in China, IQVIA and Vcell, 2019
Contact Us
Suite1202B, 12F, Tower 2, 1239 Century Avenue, Century Metropolis, Pudong District, Shanghai, PRC
Email: dingsai@vcellhealthcare.com /Career: HR@vcellhealthcare.com/Patient Recruitment: clinicaltrial@vcellhealthcare.com
©2019 Vcell Healthcare Limited 沪ICP备19024936号
Power By : A+T

生物类似药
什么是生物类似药?
生物类似药是实验室复制的高价生物药的克隆品。
生物类似药的结构与其被复制的生物药相同,以病人可普遍承担的价格提供相同疗效及安全性的药物,提高了普通患者获得治疗的机会。
生物类似药在全球已是一种彻底改变了社会药物经济的新领域。
生物药物的开发难点
与化学合成的药物相比,生物药具有复杂的晶体结构,因此在开发和生产过程中具有更大的挑战性。
生物药开发所需的技术水平与化学仿制药物相比的差异类似于在开发自行车、汽车和飞机时所观察到的技术差异。
生物类似药的监管
欧洲药品管理局(EMA)是第一个发布生物类似药指南的监管机构。2005年10月30日,“生物类似药产品指南”在欧洲生效,为在欧盟获得生物类似药批准提供了一个总体框架。这为随后在欧洲推出生物类似药铺平了道路,也导致了生物类似药在欧洲的数量和使用方面占居全球领先地位。世界卫生组织(WHO)和包括加拿大、澳大利亚在内的一些国家也很快就跟上了EMA的脚步,并在其指导方针中采用了类似的原则。美国食品药品监督管理局 (FDA) 在2009年至2012年间制定了生物类似药的总体框架,并在2015年发布了最终指导方针。2015年中国CFDA发布了《生物类似药研发与评价技术指导原则(试行)》,对“生物类似药”进行了明确的定义:“生物类似药是指在质量、安全性和有效性方面与已获准注册的参照药具有相似性的治疗用生物制品”。随着生物类似药的监管途径在全球范围内的发展和完善,以及许多畅销的生物药物(如修美乐、赫赛汀、美罗华、类克等)开始失去专利保护,生物类似药在全球范围内得到了越来越广泛的认可和上市。
生物类似药的价值
得益于遗传学、分子生物学和生物化学的突破,生物药物疗法真正革新并彻底改变了世界各地对肿瘤、自身免疫性疾病以及慢性病的治疗模式、患者护理方案、长期临床结果和公共卫生预算。2016年,生物药品的全球市场已经超过了2000亿美元。目前,全球十大最畅销的药物中有八种是生物药。

由于生物制剂在生产上的高技术壁垒和工艺质量控制上的困难,生物药物的价格更加昂贵,从而使患者使用生物药物的可及性远低于化学药物。在全球范围内,因为生物类似药较原研生物药有更低的价格,其获批使能够接受生物药物治疗的患者数量显著增加。生物类似药不仅自身比原研药价格低廉,同时也为市场带来了竞争,迫使这些昂贵的药物降低价格。据估计,从2017年到2026年,美国的生物类似药将减少540亿美元的生物药物直接支出1。另一项已公开发表的药物经济学研究2估计,曲妥珠单抗生物类似药(CT-P6)的上市将为欧盟28个国家节省从8.72亿欧元到26.35亿欧元不等的财政预算。这些节省的财政费用将使52,154至134,543名患者在五年内获得曲妥珠单抗的治疗,从而进一步改善了这些国家的公共卫生状况。

生物类似药更为经济的成本也会对治疗方案和生物药品的使用方法产生影响。生物类似药可以使得患者在必要时及时得到治疗。

总体来说,生物类似药将:
引进世界级、优质经济的生物类似药可以利国利民
2019年,IQVIA和Vcell联合完成了一项药物经济学研究3,以评估赫赛汀(曲妥珠单抗)生物类似药(CT-P6)上市对中国的预算影响分析。该研究发现,中国乳腺癌和胃癌患病率的增加给患者带来了沉重的疾病负担,也给医保基金和患者家庭带来了巨大的经济负担,导致曲妥珠单抗在HER2+患者中的可及率较低。引入世界级的优质经济的生物类似药可以大大节省国家医保基金。所节省的预算可以为更多患者提供医疗服务,且可以利用节省的基金覆盖更多的药品,尤其是患者需求高的创新药等,从而优化医疗资源分配。此外,由于生物类似药具有患者可负担的价格,可显著增加患者对药物的可及性,降低患者负担,大幅度减少“因病致贫、因病返贫”的患者家庭(如下图所示)。


生产技术是制造生物药物的主要挑战
生物类似药的研发门槛主要体现在对活性成分的生物合成上。虽然活性成分的结构、功能和治疗效果已知,但是大批量、高纯度的生产才是关键,其技术门槛主要体现在生产工艺上。 生物药的合成主要分为两个步骤,包括上游工序和下游工序。上游工序通常包括细胞培养及收集,下游工序则包括多步纯化。实验室小规模生产和商业化大规模生产所应用的技术不同,大规模生产技术是重要的工艺门槛之一。大规模生产的难点主要体现在提高生产效率以及稳定质量控制上。小分子化学药品的生产技术更为成熟,生产线的建设成本、维护成本以及药品生产的可变成本均较低,在大规模工业化生产上没有行业门槛。从生产能力来看,生物类似药行业仍然体现出“高门槛”的特点,大规模、高纯度的生产是降低成本的关键。
Celltrion拥有亚洲第一家通过美国FDA cGMP 认证的大规模生物药生产工厂
凭借190,000L的生产能力,Celltrion的大规模生产设施在2007年成为亚洲第一家通过美国FDA cGMP 认证的生物药生产厂。2018年,Celltrion的工厂通过了美国FDA、欧盟EMA以及日本PMDA的GMP认证。Celltrion已在全球范围内成功上市一系列治疗肿瘤及自身免疫系统疾病的生物类似药,并快速占领市场,真实世界数据显示了其生物类似药的安全性和有效性。
1. Mulcahy AW, Hlavka JP, Case SR. Biosimilar cost savings in the United States: initial experience and future potential. Rand Health Q. 2018;7(4):3 (eCollection 2018 Mar.)
2. D. Suh, S. Lee, and D. Suh, “PCN69 - Budget Impact of Substituting Biosimilar Trastuzumab (CT-P6) in Treating Gastric Cancer and Breast Cancer in 28 European Countries,” Value Health, Vol. 21, P. S25, Oct. 2018.
3. Budget Impact Analysis of Trastuzumab Biosimilar CT-P6 on HER2+ Breast Cancer and Gastric Cancer Treatment in China, IQVIA and Vcell, 2019
联系我们
上海市浦东新区世纪大道1239号世纪大都会2号楼12楼1202B
Email: dingsai@vcellhealthcare.com / 人力资源: HR@vcellhealthcare.com / 患者招募: clinicaltrial@vcellhealthcare.com
@2019 鼎赛医药科技有限公司版权所有 许可证编号:沪ICP备19024936号
Power By : A+T